Thursday, April 20, 2017

2017 Selke trophy preview

It's that time of the year again. The NHL will be announcing the finalists for all of the trophies, and the winners will be announced in Las Vegas on June 21. The first finalists that were announced were the finalists for the Selke trophy. The trophy, named after Frank J. Selke, is awarded to the forward who demonstrates the most skill in defense. This year's Selke finalists are Patrice Bergeron of the Boston Bruins, Ryan Kesler of the Anaheim Ducks, and Mikko Koivu of the Minnesota Wild.

      For Bergeron, this is the 6th consecutive time he's been nominated for the award. He's taken it home 3 times, and is looking for number 4. Bob Gainey has the record for the most Selke wins, winning it 4 times. Pavel Datsyuk, Jere Lehtinen and Guy Carbonneau are the only others to win it 3 times, or a hatrick. In 79 games this season, Bergeron scored 53 points (21 goals and 32 assists) and was a +12.

Bergeron with the Selke trophy in 2014
Kesler with the award in 2011
     Kesler is also a familiar face in this race. He was nominated last year, and is now a 5 time finalist. He won the trophy once. Kesler played in all 82 games this season, scoring 58 points (22 goals and 36 assists), and was a +8.

     Koivu, the captain of the Wild, has never been nominated before. As the Wild finished 2nd in the Central division, Koivu excelled at both ends. He played in 80 games this season, scoring 58 points (18 goals and 40 assists) and was a +27.

     I think that Koivu will win. It's his first time being a finalist and the others have won, so I'm rooting for him. I think he'll win because of the Wild being so successful because of their defense. His +27 rating is amazing for a defenseman, let alone a forward.

1 comment:

  1. The statistics suggest he should win. As a Wild fan, I hope the voters see it the way you do. Nice job Carter.


Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.